Nominations are now being accepted for the 2017 AMIC Asia Communication Award. 

Nominations submitted for 2016 will be consolidated with the new nominees for 2017. 

AMIC will award both the 2016 and the 2017 Asia Communication Awardees during the AMIC 25th Annual Conference on 27-29 September 2017 at Miriam College, Quezon City, Philippines. 

Since 2006, AMIC has recognized outstanding achievements in various media and communication fields and categories through the AMIC Asia Communication Award.

The nominees’ contributions can be focused on a single country within Asia Pacific or the whole of Asia-Pacific. While the nominee need not be from Asia, preference is accorded to regional actors.

The AMIC Asia Communication Award is given in the following categories:

Research—pioneering contributions to the body of knowledge on media and communication research, such as the launching and completion of major research projects or the development of enduring theoretical approaches in the discipline.

Education – legacy in nurturing successive generations of media, communication, or journalism students and scholars.

Institution building – establishment of key communication and media programs, research centres or academic publications.

Excellence in journalism – sustained involvement in public service and observance of the highest journalistic principles.

Others – from time to time the Board may present the AMIC Asia Communication Award to a media practitioner for outstanding commitment to and excellence in their field of endeavor. 

Past awardees include eminent communicators and journalists: 

Dr. John Lent, 2006
Prof. Eddie C. Y. Kuo, 2007
Dr. Nora Quebral and Dr. Florangel Rosario- Braid, 2008
Dr. Binod Agrawal and Dr. K. E. Eapen, 2009
Dr. Hidetoshi Kato, 2010
Dr. Georgette Wang and Dr. Crispin Maslog, 2011
Tan Sri Dato’ L. Krishnan, 2012
Dr. Alwi Dahlan and Mr. Jakob Oetama, 2013
Mr. Juan L. Mercado, 2014
Dr. Alan Hancock and Dr. David Robie, 2015

Nominations will be accepted from any AMIC member. The closing date for the 2017 Asia Communication Award is on 31 May 2017.

Those who wish to nominate must accomplish the official nomination form (also available on, and send it, together with a nomination letter, to:

Ramon R. Tuazon
Secretary General
Asian Media Information and Communication Centre (AMIC)
E-mail: or

Share This