AMIC has reset the deadline for submission of nominees to its 2016 Asian Communication Award to 31 October 2016.

According to AMIC Secretary General Ramon R. Tuazon, the rescheduling will ensure that more nominees can vie for this prestigious award. The 2016 winners will be announced early next year. 

Since 2006, 16 individuals have been recognized by AMIC for their outstanding achievements in various media and communication fields and categories. 

The AMIC Asia Communication Award 2016 will be given in the following categories: 

Research—pioneering contributions to the body of knowledge on media and communication research, such as the launching and completion of major research projects or the development of enduring theoretical approaches in the discipline; 

Education—legacy in nurturing successive generations of media, communication, or journalism students and scholars; 

Institution building—establishment of key communication and media programs, research centres or academic publications; 

Excellence in journalism—sustained involvement in public service and observance of the highest journalistic principles; and 

Outstanding practitioners from a single country within Asia-Pacific, a region within Asia, or the whole of Asia-Pacific can be nominated. 

While the nominee need not be from Asia-Pacific, preference is accorded to regional actors. 

Past awardees include eminent communicators and journalists Dr. John Lent, 2006; Prof. Eddie C. Y. Kuo, 2007; Dr. Nora Quebral and Dr. Florangel Rosario- Braid, 2008; Dr. Binod Agrawal and Dr. K. E. Eapen, 2009; Dr. Hidetoshi Kato, 2010; Dr. Georgette Wang and Dr. Crispin Maslog, 2011; Tan Sri Dato’ L. Krishnan, 2012; Dr. Alwi Dahlan and Mr. Jakob Oetama, 2013; Mr. Juan L. Mercado, 2014; and Dr. Alan Hancock and Dr. David Robie, 2015.

The award will be presented during the 2017 AMIC international conference in Manila, Philippines.

Nomination can be made by accomplishing the official nomination form (available at, and submitting it with a nomination letter to:

Ramon R. Tuazon
Secretary General
Asian Media Information and Communication Centre (AMIC)
E-mail: or

Share This