The AMIC Asia Communication Award 2019 will be given in the following categories:

Truth in Journalism Award

(formerly Journalism Excellence Award)

Nomination Form – Truth in Journalism Award.pdf

  • Commitment to the principles of free and independent journalism
  • Excellence in the practice of the journalism profession
  • Contribution of writings to development, freedom, and democracy
  • Recognition as an exemplar especially to young journalists

Transformative Leadership Award

(formerly Institutional Development Award)

Nomination Form – Transformative Leadership Award.pdf 

  • Definition and sharing of a vision to the entire organization or community
  • Exemplary values, beliefs, and practices that inspire and motivate change
  • Introduction of pioneering and “disruptive” policies, systems and procedures, products and services
  • Challenging the status quo by offering, encouraging, and pursuing innovation and creativity

Teaching Hero Award

(formerly Communication Education Award)

Nomination Form – Teaching Hero Award.pdf

  • Extensive service and passion to the communication teaching profession
  • Recognition of impact to professional lives of former students
  • Contribution to Asian communication theory/model building and development
  • Outstanding outputs including offline/online textbooks, references, modules, etc.
  • Introduction of innovative and creative communication teaching strategies and tools

Disruptive Inquiry

(Communication Research)

Nomination Form – Disruptive Inquiry Award.pdf


  • Contribution to new information and knowledge (original research) in communication
  • Recognition of pioneering contributions to communication research & development
  • Recognition of quality communication research outputs
  • Consistency in the use of scientific research methodologies
  • Significant impact of research outputs to the communication discipline and society in general
  • Integrity of researchers (individual or institution)

Nomination Forms

Past awardees include eminent communicators and journalists:

  • John Lent, 2006

  • Eddie C. Y. Kuo, 2007

  • Nora Quebral and Dr. Florangel Rosario- Braid, 2008

  • Binod Agrawal and Dr. K. E. Eapen, 2009

  • Hidetoshi Kato, 2010

  • Georgette Wang and Crispin Maslog, 2011

  • Tan Sri Dato’ L. Krishnan, 2012

  • Alwi Dahlan and Jakob Oetama, 2013

  • Juan L. Mercado, 2014

  • Alan Hancock and David Robie, 2015

  • Dhavalasri Shelton Gunaratne 2016

  • Wijayananda Jayaweera, 2017

  • Franz Joseph Eilers, SVD and Charlie Agatep, 2018

The closing date for nomination is on 31 March 2019. The award will be presented during the 27th AMIC Annual conference June 17-19, 2019 at Chulalongkorn University in Bangkok, Thailand.


*Please accomplish the linked nomination form. Send the form, together with a nomination letter to